Capital city in Sri Lanka

Colombo is the commercial capital and largest city of Sri Lanka. It is the financial center of the island and a popular tourist destination. It is located on the west coast of the island and adjacent to the Greater Colombo area which includes Sri Jayawardhanapura Kotte, the legislative capital of Sri Lanka and Dehiwala Mount Lavinia. Colombo is often referred to as the capital since Sri Jayawardhanapura Kotte is within the urban area of, and a suburb of, Colombo. But the ancient Colombo had bullock cart transport system with the development of Colombo this place gradually; Colombo became the busiest place.

It is also the administrative capital of Western Province, Sri Lanka and the district capital of Colombo district. Colombo is a busy and vibrant place with a mixture of modern life and colonial buildings and ruins. It was the legislative capital of Sri Lanka until 1982.Due to its large harbour and its strategic position along the East-West sea trade routes, Colombo was known to ancient traders 2,000 years ago. It was made the capital of the island when Sri Lanka was ceded to the British Empire in 1815, and its status as capital was retained when the nation became independent in 1948. In 1978, when administrative functions were moved to Sri Jayawardhanapura Kotte, Colombo was designated as the commercial capital of Sri Lanka.

The main city is home to a majority of Sri Lanka’s corporate offices, restaurants and entertainment venues. Famous landmarks in Colombo include Galle Face green, Viharamahadevi park, Beira Lake, Colombo Racecourse, Planetarium , University of Colombo, Mount Lavinia beach, Nelum pokuna theatre, Colombo Lotus tower (under construction)  as well as the National Museum.

  • Old Capital City


  • New Capital City

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *